Dark Horse (Class 5, #1) by Michelle Diener

Some secrets carry the weight of the world.

Rose McKenzie may be far from Earth with no way back, but she’s made a powerful ally–a fellow prisoner with whom she’s formed a strong bond. Sazo’s an artificial intelligence. He’s saved her from captivity and torture, but he’s also put her in the middle of a conflict, leaving Rose with her loyalties divided.

Captain Dav Jallan doesn’t know why he and his crew have stumbled across an almost legendary Class 5 battleship, but he’s not going to complain. The only problem is, all its crew are dead, all except for one strange, new alien being.

She calls herself Rose. She seems small and harmless, but less and less about her story is adding up, and Dav has a bad feeling his crew, and maybe even the four planets, are in jeopardy. The Class 5’s owners, the Tecran, look set to start a war to get it back and Dav suspects Rose isn’t the only alien being who survived what happened on the Class 5. And whatever else is out there is playing its own games.

In this race for the truth, he’s going to have to go against his leaders and trust the dark horse.

***
You guys. I’m so frustrated. Lately the books on Goodreads with the 4+ stars are the ones that I’m not liking at the ones with the 3.5 rating I’m loving. It’s frustrating because I don’t see how all these 4+ ratings are soo well loved and then I’m over here like 

I picked this book up because, well it had a good rating and the reviews were really good. When this book first started off I was really confused. I feel like I was just thrown into the middle of something with no preface at all. I would’ve liked if they maybe would’ve started with Rose’s abduction instead, or even a prologue, so I could’ve felt more involved in the story.

The characters were very likable but for some reason I just wan’t fully connected to any of them. I wasn’t IN LOVE. If you’ve been following me on this blog for awhile you know when I read books I want to be obsessed with the characters and feel like I know them. I want the author to make it hard for me to put it down and go to sleep at night because I need to finish the book. Basically, I put this book down willingly quite a few times.

Oh and y’all. Beware. There’s only one “steamy” scene and I’m putting it in quotations because it’s basically a “fade to black” scene. I hate those so much I can’t even explain. I feel like I’m getting censored from the author.

There’s only really a hint of romance in this book. I wouldn’t necessarily categorize it as a romance novel to be honest. And y’all know me I know me some romance.

The storyline was good a bit dragged on than what I thought but it was alright because it was good. The whole book is basically a week long so it’s all focused on this one problem they’re facing. The only part of the book where I wanted to roll my eyes was how BLOWN away the people were at Rose when she first sang “Row Row Row Your Boat” like you would’ve thought God was talking to them directly by how transfixed they were. Which is cool but to that song? It couldn’t have been a more badass song? & They were also amazed at “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star”.

ANYWAYS! Overall this book is pretty good and the characters are super likable but for some reason I wasn’t feeling a connection to this book or the characters and I don’t know why. It’s like nothing clicked for me. However, it seemed like I’m part of the minority in this opinion since the reviews and ratings are amazing for this book.

Leave a Reply

