Ash (Hive Trilogy #1) by Jaymin Eve and Leia Stone

Are you an Ash?

*Increased stamina
*Lack of appetite
*Anger outbursts
*Insatiable thirst
*Beauty & Strength
*Male

Call the hotline if these symptoms come on suddenly!

Turns out Charlie Bennet was all of those things except the last. Don’t let the name fool you, Charlie was all woman and she wanted nothing to do with the ash … until the day she found out she was one.

It all started when infected bats bit a small group of humans and created what are now called vampires. Then, the male vampires knocked up some female humans and the result was a gorgeous race of all male ash. Superhuman freaks that had looks to kill.

Charlie is the first female ash, aka unicorn of the Hive – the gated compound in Portland that the humans have designated to isolate vampires and ash from society.

Problem? The Hive is full and only a select few will be allowed to live there. To live at all, really. If Charlie wants to earn the right to become a citizen of the Hive, she will have to survive the culling – a series of fights to the death. And guess what? Just because she’s a girl doesn’t mean she’ll get special treatment.

Good thing there’s Ryder, the mysterious lead ash enforcer, who seems to always have her back. But when secrets bubble to the surface, it will take more than one guy to save her.
****

I legit couldn’t tell you how long it’s been since I’ve read a vampire book. IT’S BEEN AGES. I remember when I was in 7th grade and I legit only read vampire books. I think I read about a hundred vampire books back to back I didn’t want to read anything else but vampire books. To be honest that’s probably why I took a really long break from reading vampire books I probably wore myself out that year.

I picked up this book because Jaymin Eve is one of the authors for Trickery a Curse of the Gods book and I looooove that series. I would’ve written a review for that book but right after I finished the first book I immediately jumped into the second one and by then it’s too late for me.

Anyways, since I enjoyed that series so much ( & was so upset when i found out that I have to wait months for the next book to come out) I decided to check out Jaymin’s other books. Even though I don’t read vampire books I decided to give this one a try since I already knew that I’d like this author’s writing style and BOY I’m soooo glad that I did!

This book is amazing and so addicting. I couldn’t take a break from reading it. I was at work slyly reading this book because it was that good. I love the characters in this book you feel like you know them and you can’t help but fall in love with them.

Charlie is this badass girl that finds herself thrown into a life she doesn’t want at all. However, she realizes that it’s not as bad as she though except for well the culling which is downright disturbing. I just love funny, badass heroines. They’re the best and so much fun to read. I also love Ryder. You can just feel the tension between those two which makes it so frustrating when Ryder fights it. Ugh whyyyyy. Even though I’m urging those two to get together I really appreciate it not being an insta-love story. These characters are complex which I love because I hate when I read a story and the guy (or guys) are so obsessed with their mate or girlfriend or whatever that they’re so boring because all that comes out of their mouth regards how much they love that girl. (Can you tell I recently read a book where the guys acted just like that??)

The plot to the story is super intriguing as well. This book does a really good job at captivating it’s audience which I appreciate so much. Another thing I love is how this book is “new adult”. I was scared when I picked this up that it was going to be a YA book. Nothing against YA but I haven’t been into YA for years now. I prefer a lot more cussing, inappropriate jokes and adult situations in my books if ya know what I mean.

I can’t wait to read the next book the only thing I’m not looking forward to is the fact that this book is a trilogy. I think I’m so used to series being like 20 books long that 3 books seem so sort to me now. Oh well, I’ll just have to binge read on other books from this author.

 

Leave a Reply

