Grabbed by Vicious (DNF @ 50%)

Hallie has never run so fast in her life. One of the frightening sky warriors from the warship Valiant is hot on her heels and intent on capturing her as his new bride. He takes her down and places his collar around her neck. With one word, he claims her.

Mine.

Born and bred for the military, Vicious has spent the last twenty-four years rising through the ranks. This dark-haired sprite ensnared him with one glance. Now she is his reward.

Despite her fear of Vicious, Hallie surrenders under his skillful hands and mouth. Vicious makes a promise to her. If she’ll submit to him, she’ll know only pleasure and comfort. After a lifetime of hardship, his offer tempts her greatly.

One night with Hallie and Vicious feels his protective instincts flaring. He’ll do anything to make her happy and keep her safe, even if that means surrendering his heart. Though he intended to master her, Vicious realizes it may be his sweet Hallie who masters him.
***
I didn’t read the summary going into this and I don’t even think I read the reviews before I got this book. I tend to like being surprised when it comes to books. This book surprised me but not in a good way. This book was just sex. Nothing else but sex. I was so annoyed by the 600th sex scene that I’ve decided enough is enough. There wasn’t really a plot that was formed in this book either. I’m not sure what was even going on other than the fact that this couple loved sex. Like we get it.

Also character wise this book was confusing. Hallie’s character seemed very contradicting. They would amp her up to be this independent strong woman but I didn’t really see that in her actions at all. Usually I’m a HUGE fan of the males in books but I was just thrown by Vicious. At some parts I was like “eh he’s not that bad” and then others I just sat there like “wtf are you even doing right now why why why”.

At first, whenever there was a sex scene I would say to myself “well maybe the plot will reveal itself after this one” and then another sex scene would happen and I’d tell myself again and again but nothing happened. I’m 50% through the book and only 2 (maybe 3) days have passed and they’ve only had sex. I’m not even exaggerating. I love smut as much as the next person but I also love for a book to have some plot to it. Or some character development and consistency.

Another thing I wasn’t a fan of was how very human they were. I get Hallie was human but Vicious wasn’t but you couldn’t tell a difference. I love my alien books to actually be that. I just needed something more.

Leave a Reply

