Casey’s Warriors (Bondmates #1) by Ann Mayburn

Lorn Adar has searched more than a lifetime to find his bondmate—the one woman he was born to love and the only woman who can save him from the approaching madness that threatens all unbonded males of his race. When a wormhole opens from his galaxy to Earth and the women who could hold their future, Lorn will do all in his power to not only find his mate, but show her a Universe she never knew existed.

Casey Westfall’s normal life changed forever when she finds the sexy leather clad man on her doorstep. One innocent kiss leads to an adventure that will span worlds and Casey will have to choose between the man who is the other half of her soul and never seeing her family or her world again. To complicate matters Kadothians live in polyamerous family units and Lorn will have to convince his Earth bride to accept not only his love, but the love of his best friend and brothers in arms or risk the chance of losing them to either the madness or the Hive—the race of sociopathic women bent on destroying and enslaving everything in their path, but Casey can’t see loving more than one man as being anything other than a sin. Lorn will have to teach his bride that she was created for both of them just as they were created only for her.

In a Universe where all is possible, the battle to protect not only his people, but his heart rests on the soul of a human woman who must face the unknown and take a leap of faith that could save or destroy them all.
***

I have soooo many mixed feelings about this book. So let me just start from the beginning shall we.
This book started out by her studying for her finals at the end of her sophomore year. I found this so ironic considering the fact that I’m currently putting off studying for my finals right now to read this book (& I’m in my last semester as a sophomore). She is me.

Also, I’m in love with the fact that there’s MM action in this book!! I was just complaining the other day how there’s not really any good MM alien/scifi books out there and the ones that are there are just plain smut with no plot or purpose other than sex scenes. I’m just in the beginning of the book so I don’t have an overall rating on the book but so far I’m loving it. It was a tad bit confusing in the beginning when they introduced blood brothers. I feel like this author just threw out that word but didn’t give much of an explanation to what they meant so I was thinking that they were actually brothers….this is definitely not the case especially after the sex scene they shared.

The sex scenes in this book were crazy!! I’m obsessed I need more! They were literally scorching hot. Pretty much the best smut I’ve ever read, which says a lot. Warning: do not read those scenes in public. Trust me they are definitely NSFW which I’m all for. 

I couldn’t put down this book I loved it! Wish there was more dilemma to thicken the plot but still overall happy with this book.

My only complaint, really, is the ending. I felt like it was left unfinished. We never got to know about who was behind the main dilemma (why can’t I think of another word other than dilemma?). Tad bit of a spoiler on that bit but I didn’t tell you what the dilemma was (again with that damn word) so es okay. Especially since the next book is about someone else I feel like before the author moved on to the next girl for the series she should’ve wrapped up this book fully. 

I love those series that can be read as a stand alone, if you really wanted to. I mean obviously the series is more enjoyable if you read it in chronological order but if you really wanted to skip around you technically could. For example, the New Species series by the woman I’m obsessed with Laurann Dohner. Each book followed a timeline and storyline but each story had its own plot and exciting problems and at the end you felt like all the loose ends were tied. In this book there were a couple loose ends that I wanted the author to tie before heading onto the next bride.

The characters in this book were amazing. I’m finding myself loving alpha males with a sensitive side but only when it comes to their mates. It just makes them more irresistible. Nast and Lorn were beyond hot. Not just with their looks but their personalities were amazing, just how I like my male characters. I also really liked Casey as well. Especially because even when she was scared she didn’t let that stop her from standing up for herself and saying what she wanted. I love strong female characters so without a doubt I loved her.

I also read the second book in this story, didn’t write a review for it though, and although I love the storyline, characters and just overall this new world I’m not a fan of how many loose ends there are. I feel like each book just abruptly ends and it’s frustrating me to the point that I’m stopping after the second book. I know everyone will have their own take on how they prefer their books to end but just not for me.

I liked this authors writing and the stories she creates so I might look into her other series and see how those are!

Let me know if you’ve read these books or this author before and give me your take on this!

Leave a Reply

