DNF at 61%: The Naphil’s Kiss by Simone Beaudelaire

22606107

Nephilim • Succubus • Forbidden Love • War Between Good & Evil

I’m really disappointed in this book. It had great ratings on Goodreads and everyone seemed to fall in love. I saw a lot of reviews stating that they love this authors writing and I’m kind of scratching my head wondering if we read the same book. It’s so frustrating when everyone is obsessed with a book and you’re just sitting there like vqmm_f-maxage-0

I’ve never read one of Simone Beaudelaire’s books so I wasn’t sure what to expect going into this. I really wanted to like this book though. The concept for this book is great, a Nephil falls in love with their mortal enemy, a succubus. It’s the ultimate forbidden love story! However, it didn’t really feel that way to me. Sure, in the beginning when they resisted each other you got a taste of the forbidden love but when Sarahi goes to the sanctuary, they easily accept her. (I’ll admit that was kinda a spoiler but if you haven’t read the book yet then it won’t ruin anything!) I just didn’t understand why they would accept her so easily?

giphy

I really didn’t like the writing of this story. It was very much the author telling what happened then showing what happened and have the readers live through the events too. I wanted to feel that emotional connections between the characters and in this book I felt so detached. When I read books I want to feel like I’m right smack dab in the middle of everything that is happening and I felt like I was left on the sidelines on this one.

I’m not sure what else I can say because I stopped reading due to those reasons. I hope everyone else that has read this book or is about to read this book enjoys it, however, it just wasn’t the book for me. I do have to give credit for the plot though. Nowadays, plots seem so similar to each other so I appreciate the uniqueness in this one!

If you are interested in this book you can get it here for $2.99:
22606107

 

Leave a Reply

